Skip to main content



Written By


Buffalo Gal Pictures, producer of such award-winning Canadian properties as Less Than Kind and Aloft, is proud to congratulate its producing partners, cast and crew for an impressive record number of Canadian Screen Award nominations across various film and television categories. Nominations were announced Tuesday, January 19th, 2016 during an event hosted by The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television.


Buffalo Gal nominations include a Best Motion Picture nod for Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson’s The Forbidden Room, produced with Phi Films of Montreal, and also recognized for Achievements in Art Direction and Sound Editing; Paul Gross’ Manitoba and Jordan-filmed Hyena Road, with eight nominations, produced with Rhombus Media, Triple 7 Films, and Bron Creative; and Sunnyside, produced with Counterfeit Pictures in association with CITY (Rogers Media), which appeared in five categories including Best Performance (Ensemble) in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series. Buffalo Gal’s co-production with Banana-Moon Sky Films, the Sean Garrity feature Borealis, to be released this spring, picked up a nomination for Best Visual Effects. (A complete list of Buffalo Gal Picture nominations follows.)


President Phyllis Laing said: “Congratulations to our partners, the talent that received the nominations and all of the talent involved in the projects, both behind and in front of the camera. Bravo to all.”

Hosted by Norm Macdonald, the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards Gala will take place in Toronto on March 13, and will air on CBC TV.



*Nominees from Manitoba


The Forbidden Room


Best Motion Picture

Phoebe Greenberg, Penny Mancuso, *Phyllis Laing, David Christensen, *Guy Maddin


Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design

*Galen Johnson, Brigitte Henry, Chris Lavis, Maciek Szczerbowski


Achievement in Sound Editing

*John Gurdebeke, David Rose


Hyena Road


Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design

Arv Grewal, Steve Shewchuk, *Larry Spittle


Achievement in Cinematography

Karim Hussain


Achievement in Costume Design

*Katelynd Johnston


Achievement in Editing

David Wharnsby


Achievement in Makeup

Jayne Dancose, Debra Johnson, Charles Porlier


Achievement in Overall Sound

Lou Solakofski, Ian Rankin, Joe Morrow, *Russ Dyck, Graham Rogers, James Bastable, André Azoubel, Don White, Jack Hereen


Achievement in Sound Editing

Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Martin Gwynn Jones, Barry Gilmore, David Evans, Dave Rose, Brennan Mercer, Ed Douglas, Kevin Banks, Goro Koyama, Andy Malcolm


Achievement in Visual Effects

Phil Jones, Sarah Wormsbecher, Eric Doiron, Anthony DeChellis, Lon Molnar, Geoff D.E. Scott, Nathan Larouche, Mark Fordham




Achievement in Visual Effects

*Darren Wall



*Nominees from Manitoba




Best Original Music Score for a Series

James Jandrisch


Best Photography in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series

D. Gregor Hagey


Best Sound in a Variety or Animated Program or Series

Steve Moore, Lucas Roveda, John Laing, Mark Dejczak, Marilee Yorston, David Mercel, *Leon Johnson


Best Writing in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series

Dan Redican, Gary Pearson, Kathleen Phillips, Alastair Forbes, Jan Caruana


Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series (Individual or Ensemble)

Kathleen Phillips, Pat Thornton, Patrice Goodman, Kevin Vidal, Alice Moran, Rob Norman, Norm MacDonald